Thursday, November 6, 2008

Genghis Grill can be Gluten Free, Soy Free


I wouldn't have believed it, but you can eat fairly safely at Genghis Grill.  My friend with a soy allergy showed me the ropes.  The biggest deal is that you have to get them to clean the portion of the grill they will be using to make your food.  The next important part is that you don't poison yourself.  You pick your own spices, sauces and ingredients.  There are two sauces that ought to be safe - see the nutrition PDF - but they look spicy, which is not my cup of tea.  I suspect that you could bring your own sauce, however, which is what I plan to try next time!  Also, when you choose a starch, choose something without gluten, like rice.

8 comments:

kelli said...

YAY! I love Genghis Grill! Have they given you a hard time about cleaning the grill, or are they nice about it?

Jen Friedberg said...

They were pretty nice about it. My friend just said, "I have a serious food allergy, so I need you to please clean the grill where my food will be cooked."

In fact, they forgot to clean her part of the grill and she pointed it out. They tossed the original food and let her get a new bowl, no problem.

Haleyuns said...

Genghis Grill has always been very nice about cleaning the grill and been very patient with questions I have had. They even have a sign saying that if you have an allergy of any sort to let them know how they can help you. So nice!! And I always bring my own soy sauce and they don't even make me feel like a freak about it.

Bledsoe Photography said...

I'm at GG now. Two said they didn't know which sauces were gluten free. Another said none are.
Oh well.

Jax said...

Bledsoe Photography - Which location didn't know their sauces? I know that the Dragon Sauce, the Roasted Tomato Sauce, and the Sweet and Sour Sauce do not contain any Gluten. If you have any other questions, please email me at jax@genghisgrill.com.
Thanks!!

Marisa said...

The nutritional PDF is no longer available and there isn't any information on their website other than nutrient breakdown.

Keri said...

Actually all you have to mention is that you have a food allergy and they will automatically know that they need to clean the grill extra and they will set up double sticks for you. Genghis grill has 3 gluten "friendly" sauces (friendly because gluten is an airborne allergen, so although these sauces are made without gluten they cannot say that be stated that way). The sauces are Sweet and Sour, Dragon, and Roasted Tomato. None of them are very spicy, in fact most are sweet and mild. If you are looking to go gluten free or have a gluten allergy Genghis Grill is a very good choice :).

Petrina said...

I'm looking at their nutritional information right now and the Roasted Tomato Sauce says it has soy sauce in it that contains wheat. Also, the Asian Chili Sauce appears to be GF.